What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana?

Posted by Damian Roberti on

What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana?



Marketing Food Online participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites. Our Blogs are for informational purposes only seek legal advice if needed. 



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana

 Which Permits Must Be Obtained Before Starting a Food Truck Business?
In order to legally sell food, you will require not only food truck insurance, but also the approvals and licenses required by both the city and the state. Verify that you have covered all of your bases by consulting the office of the county clerk or the business office of the state. Without regard to geography, the following is a list of the permissions and licenses that are demanded the most commonly from mobile food vendors:

1. Business License
smiling cook working in mobile kitchen
You are able to conduct a business in the city and state of your choice so long as you have a valid business license, which is also sometimes referred to as a "vendor license" or a "basic business operating license." Obtaining a license for your company shows that the government acknowledges it as a genuine enterprise and has the ability to monitor it for tax purposes. What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana




What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana

A license for a food truck company will typically cost between $50 and $500, although the application fees and regulations will vary depending on the city in which you operate. Make sure you are informed of the date that your license will expire as well as the process to renew it. It is vital to submit an application as soon as you have finished writing the business plan for your food truck since some municipalities restrict the number of licenses for mobile food vendors that they give out and sometimes organize a lottery for new vendors. Visit the website of your local county clerk or look in the United States Code Annotated for information on how to submit an application for a company registration. The official website of the United States Small Business Administration



2. Employer's Unique Identification Number (EIN)
An Employer Identification Number (EIN) is a federal tax ID number that is used to establish your company with the Internal Revenue Service. An EIN is also commonly known as a Social Security Number. It enables the opening of a bank account for the firm, the establishing of a credit profile, and the hiring of workers. This number is required to be presented alongside the business license in some states.



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana
You can get a free Employer Identification Number from the Internal Revenue Service by contacting them through their website, their fax line, or the mail. Because the application review procedure can take up to four weeks, you should submit your paperwork as soon as possible before the position becomes available.

3. Valid Driver's License
If you want to run a food truck, just like if you were driving a car, you will need to have a driver's license that is valid in your state and register your vehicle. A standard driver's license is all that is required to legally operate a vehicle in the majority of states. In some states, whether or not you require a commercial driver's license depends depend on the dimensions of your vehicle, including its length and weight.



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana

The price of a driver's license can range anywhere from ten dollars to one hundred dollars, depending on the state and the type of license being purchased. Get information on the prerequisites for obtaining a driver's license as well as the application process by contacting the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in your area.

4. Food Handler's Permit
A food handler's permit is granted to individuals who successfully complete both food handler training and a food safety course. This permit is also referred to as a "food handler's license" or a "food manager certificate." However, in the majority of states, only the shift manager is required to obtain the permit. In some states, the handling of food, the preparation of food, the cooking of food, or the storage of food on the premises requires at least one employee to have a valid permit at all times. Customers will have peace of mind knowing that the employees working at your food truck are knowledgeable and experienced in practices that ensure clean and safe food handling. If your supervisors hold relevant certifications, a health inspector will know for sure that someone else on staff possesses in-depth understanding of food safety practices.



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana
Permits for individuals who work with food typically cost less than fifty dollars and are good for around five years. The majority of localities mandate that all employees of a food truck have a certificate that allows them to handle food safely and that they display it in plain view. If this is not the case, then the majority of employees must have one. You will need to visit the ServSafe website in order to receive a food handler's permit. While there, you will be able to download the necessary study materials and find a testing location in your area.



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana

5. Allowance from the Department of Health
Your vehicle's ability to obtain a permit from the health department, also commonly referred to as a "food service license," indicates that it has successfully passed the health inspection. An official from the health department will conduct an inspection of your truck to look for violations of the health code. After the inspection, they will provide you with suggestions for corrections along with an overall grade for your vehicle. They make that there is appropriate food storage, hygiene, and that complete HACCP protocols are in place. The vast majority of communities require that your health score be communicated to clients at all times.

The price of a permit from the city's health department can be anywhere from $50 to $1,000, depending on the city. You can submit a request for an inspection and schedule one by calling or sending an email to the local health department in your area.



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana
Onward and Upward
The licenses and permits required for food trucks might vary greatly depending on the municipality.
Before beginning operations, business owners of food trucks will be required to acquire the appropriate permissions from their respective states and municipalities. Large cities typically have a detailed list of the permits that must be obtained in order for food trucks to operate inside their boundaries. On the other hand, if you conduct business in more rural areas, it may be more challenging to acquire this information. The following is a list of different licenses and permits pertaining to food trucks that you could need if you decide to own one:



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana

1. Seller's Permit
plates filled with onion rings, chicken fingers, and french fries
In some states, proprietors of food service businesses are required to have a seller's permit in order to be exempt from paying sales tax while purchasing ingredients and supplies at wholesale prices. When the goods is sold to customers, the tax would be collected in order to prevent a situation known as "double taxation." Check the website of the government of your state to learn whether or not a seller's permit is required, as well as the process for applying for one.

2. Fire Certificates
Your food truck might need to pass an inspection not just by the county's health department but also by the fire department in certain counties. This is often only required if your truck has cooking appliances or gas lines installed in it. If you just sell items that need to be refrigerated, you probably do not need a fire inspection; nonetheless, you should verify this information with the relevant authorities in your area. Your cooking appliances, together with your electrical wiring and the fire suppression system in your car, will be subjected to an inspection by the fire department to ensure that they have been installed and are operating correctly.



3. Parking Permits
In order to determine whether or not parking permits are necessary in the areas where you intend to serve food, you need get in touch with the county clerk in your area. There is a possibility that food trucks would not be allowed on certain streets at any time, or that they will be restricted to certain times of day. In some areas, the presence of food trucks has been planned around specific days of the week in order to reduce traffic congestion and space out the vehicles. During normal business hours, you will be allowed to park your vehicle only in the locations and for the durations indicated on your parking permit. It will also tell you whether you are permitted to leave your car parked on the street overnight or whether you are required to keep it stored in a garage while it is not in use.

4. Letter Regarding the Commissary Agreement
It is possible that your city will need you to use a commissary kitchen in order to keep your goods and prepare your meals before you set off in your food truck for the day. In such a scenario, you may also be required to have a commissary letter of agreement, which is a written document between you and the owner of the commissary validating your admission to the facility as well as the services you are permitted to use while you are there. In addition to the other criteria that were discussed and agreed upon, the commissary would provide you with a cooking facility, access to potable water, waste management services, and storage space for food.



What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana

5. Standard Operating Procedures Documentation
people who buy food from mobile vendors such as food trucks
A standard operating procedures paper is something that proprietors of food trucks are required to provide to the authorities in certain municipalities before they are allowed to sell their wares to the general public. The procedures that you and your employees follow to fulfill tasks that are related to trucks should be detailed in this document. You will need to have thorough step-by-step instructions explaining how each dish is cooked, how your equipment should be cleaned and sanitized, and how your car should be locked up at night if you are going to prepare the food yourself. Some owners of food trucks include a copy of these documents in the instruction manual that they provide to their employees.

6. Special Event Permit
A special event permit, also referred to as a "vending permit," is a kind of temporary authorization that allows for the selling of food at a particular venue location for the length of an event. This permission is granted on a case-by-case basis. The majority of sporting events, festivals, and concerts will have an event planner on hand who will be able to inform you of the many sorts of permissions required to serve food on the premises as well as the length of time for which those permits are valid. If you want to use your food truck to provide catering for a wedding, you should talk to the coordinator of the wedding site about the permits that are required. What permits do I need to sell food in Louisiana