How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina [ How much does a Food Truck License Cost]

Posted by Damian Roberti on

How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina [ How much does a Food Truck License Cost]




Marketing Food Online participates in various affiliate marketing programs, which means we may get paid commissions on editorially chosen products purchased through our links to retailer sites. 



How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina

 Obtaining Permits and Licenses for Food Trucks
Obtaining Permits and Licenses for Food Trucks
You are going to need to secure the necessary permits in order to operate your new food truck business legally on public roadways before you can begin. There are several key variations between the permits and licenses that are necessary for restaurants and those that are necessary for food truck vendors, despite the fact that food trucks and restaurants both engage in the business of selling food. We will give you with a list of the most frequent licenses and permits that are required by practically every state for food trucks, and we will also provide examples of certain permits that you may encounter based on where you plan to serve your food.



In Order to Launch a Food Truck Business, Which Licenses Are Necessary?

In order to sell food legally from a food truck, you will require food truck insurance in addition to the permits and licenses required by both your city and state. Because the names of licenses can be different, you should check with the business office of your county or the state to make sure you have obtained all of the necessary documentation. The following are the permits and licenses that are most frequently required for food trucks, regardless of where you live in the world:



1. Business License

Chef grinning behind the wheel of a food truck

A business license, which may also be referred to as a "vendor license" or a "basic business operation license," grants the holder the authority to conduct business in the city and state of their choosing. After obtaining the license, the government will acknowledge your operation as a genuine business and will be able to keep track of your company for the purposes of collecting taxes.


How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina

The cost of obtaining a business license for a food truck can normally range anywhere from $50 to $500, although the application fees and requirements can differ from city to city. Make sure you are aware of the date that your license will expire as well as the steps necessary to renew it. Be sure to apply as soon as you finish developing your food truck business plan since some cities will restrict the number of licenses for mobile food vendors that they hand out. In some cities, new vendors may even have to enter a lottery to receive a license. Visit the website of your county clerk or look it up on the United States Small Business Administration website to learn how to apply for a business license. Website belonging to the Small Business Administration.

2. Number of Employer (Employer) Identification (EIN)



How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina

Your company must register with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in order to obtain a federal tax ID number known as an Employer Identification Number (EIN), which is also sometimes referred to as a Social Security Number. It gives you the ability to establish a credit profile, hire staff, and open a bank account for your business. There are several states that give you this number when they give you your company license.

Obtaining your Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the IRS is completely free of charge, and you can do it by applying for it on their website, via fax, or by mail. It may take up to four weeks to process your application, so make sure you give yourself plenty of lead time before you launch your business.



3. Permission to Drive: License

In the same way that you are required to have a valid driver's license and register your vehicle in order to drive a car, you will also be required to have these items in order to operate a food truck. The majority of states allow you to get by with just a basic driver's license. However, the length and weight of your vehicle will be taken into consideration by some jurisdictions in order to decide whether or not you need to apply for a commercial driver's license.



How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina

The price of a driver's license can range anywhere from ten dollars to one hundred dollars, depending on the state and the type of license. Get in touch with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in your area to learn more about the steps involved in the application process and the prerequisites needed to obtain a driver's license.

4. Food Handler's Permit

Those individuals who successfully complete both food handler training as well as a food safety course are eligible to receive a food handler's permit. This document is often referred to as a "food handler's license" or a "food manager certificate." The manager-on-shift is the sole person who has to receive the permit in the majority of states. In several states, it is mandatory for at least one employee to hold a current permit at all times if food is going to be handled, prepared, cooked, or kept on the premises of the business. Customers will have the piece of mind that comes from knowing that the personnel working at your food truck is aware and skilled in sanitary and safe food-handling practices thanks to the permit. If you have your managers qualified, a health inspector will know for sure that someone on staff has an in-depth knowledge of food safety, which will make their job much easier.





Permits for individuals to handle food normally cost less than fifty dollars and are valid for close to five years. The majority of cities, if not all of them, demand that employees working on food trucks have their food handlers certificates and that they display them in a way that is accessible to the general public. Visit the website of ServSafe to receive the necessary study material and to discover a testing site that is convenient for you in order to get a permit to handle food.

5. Permission from the Health Department
How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina
Your truck's ability to obtain a health department permit, often known as a "food service license," demonstrates that it was successful in meeting the requirements of the health inspection. Your truck will be inspected by a representative from the health department who will look for any violations of the health code. After the inspection, they will offer you with a general grade for your truck as well as specific instructions on what needs to be fixed. They make sure that the food is stored properly, that the facility as a whole is clean, and that clear HACCP plans are in place. In most areas, businesses are required to prominently display their health ratings so that customers may see them.

Depending on the city, the fee for a permit from the health department might range anywhere from 40 to $1,200. You can make a request and schedule a visit from an inspector by getting in touch with your local health department over the phone or by email.

How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina
Continue to the Top

Licenses and permits for mobile food vendors that are dependent on the city

Before beginning business, proprietors of food trucks are required to secure permissions specific to their state and locality, which they must do before beginning operations in such jurisdictions. In most cases, particularly for larger cities, there is readily available information regarding the permits that are necessary for food trucks to operate inside their boundaries. On the other hand, if you conduct business in more rural areas, you might discover that the information is more difficult to acquire. After purchasing a food truck, you may be required to obtain the following licences and licenses in order to operate legally:

1. Seller's Permit

platters of onion rings, chicken tenders, and pals

In some states, proprietors of foodservice businesses are required to obtain a seller's permit before they can buy ingredients and supplies at wholesale prices and avoid paying sales tax. This exemption from paying tax is granted so that the owners can save money. In order to prevent the product from being taxed more than once, the tax would be collected when it was sold to individual consumers. Check the website of the state government in your area to determine whether or not a seller's permit is required in your state and to discover how to apply for one if it is.

2. Fire Certificates

How to Start a Food truck Business in South Carolina

If you operate a food truck in certain counties, you will be required to have it inspected not just by the county's health department but also by the fire department. If you have cooking equipment and gas lines on your truck, then this is the only circumstance in which you will need to do this. If you simply sell things that need to be kept cool, you probably won't require a fire inspection at your business. However, it is important to check with the relevant authorities in your area just to be sure. The fire department will want to inspect your cooking equipment to confirm that it has been installed correctly and is operating properly. They will also want to inspect your electrical wiring and check to see if your vehicle is equipped with a fire suppression system.

3. Parking Permits



In order to determine whether or not parking permits are required in the places where you intend to serve your cuisine, you need get in touch with the county clerk in your area. On some streets, food trucks are not allowed at any time, and on others, they are only allowed within certain hours. In some areas, food trucks are only allowed to operate on certain days of the week to alleviate traffic congestion and ensure that vehicles are spaced out evenly. During normal business hours, the location and duration of your truck's parking privileges will be specified on the parking permit you purchase. It will also tell you whether or not you are permitted to park your truck on the street overnight or whether or not you are required to keep it parked in a garage when it is not in use.

4. Letter of Agreement for the Commissary

Before heading out on the road in your food truck for the day, your city may mandate that you use a commissary kitchen to store your supplies and complete any food preparation work. If this is the case, you might also be required to have a commissary letter of agreement, which is a document that is signed by both you and the owner of the commissary and confirms your access to the facility as well as the services that you are entitled to use while you are there. In addition to the other provisions that were previously agreed upon, the commissary would make a cooking area available to you, as well as access to clean water, trash collection, and food storage.

5. Documentation about Standard Operating Procedures

individuals purchasing food from a food truck.

Before selling food to the general public, the operators of food trucks are required in a few cities to present the city with a paper outlining their standard operating procedures. This is an unusual requirement. This document has to provide an overview of the procedure that you and your personnel follow in order to do duties on your truck. You will need detailed step-by-step instructions that outline how each dish is prepared, how your equipment should be cleaned and sanitized, and how your vehicle should be locked up for the night in order to operate a food truck successfully. Some proprietors of food trucks keep a copy of these documents in their employee manual for future reference.

6. Special Event Permit

A special event permit, also known as a "vending permit," is a temporary permit that grants the holder permission to serve food at a specific venue site for the duration of an event. This type of permit is also known as a "vending permit." The majority of athletic events, festivals, and concerts will have an event planner who will be able to provide you with information regarding the types of permits required to vend food on the site as well as the length of time for which those permits must be valid. If you want to use your food truck to provide catering for a wedding, you should inquire with the planner of the venue about the permits that are required in order for you to do so.

One of the most important things you need to do to ensure the success of your food truck business is to research the many permits it requires. Permits are required to run a mobile food business legally, but the types of permits required can change depending on the type of mobile food business you run and where you plan to sell food. Because of this, you should contact your local small business office and county clerk to obtain a complete list of the permits you need to run your business legally. Make use of the list that we provided above to obtain an idea of what to anticipate as you launch your company.